Mental Illness Saved My Life

We're all a little insane

So I’m crazy. The doctors drilled it into me, mom and dad wept for me, rest in peace. Brothers and sisters didn’t pick on me and friends stayed clear of me. Can you blame them? But we’re all a little crazy, the world is one big mental asylum and all the countries are personal padded cells for all nationalities. But in this day and age, broken is the new fixed.

And for me as a warped minded writer, this gives me a certain advantage over other scribblers out there. Yes, they have fancy educations. Yes, they have big bank accounts. Yes, their daddies know the right people and connections. But no, they do not have a genuine gift As you do and I do. Yes, I am poverty ridden, broke to pockets seams. I failed high school, except for English. This is where I triumph.

I do remember heading to school once; my feet sprawled out on the top deck of the double-decker bus. I was having major headache recently, but I hide it well because I had no one to complain too. I was still a geeky teen in high school. My bus stop was coming up and I stood and shaking I walked down the bus aisle. As I reached the stairs blackness hit my eyes and the next thing I knew I was on my back covered in cuts and bruises and a bus full of people laughing at me. I made a hasty retreat from my embarrassment.

That was the first time I blacked out, this was the onset for something dark coming into focus readying itself to consume me. I at never played truant from school, I always did the right thing, which made me a target for the bullies. I never wanted to be this guy but this is the result of my history that shifted my geography, since then my mathematical problems doubled, tripled and quadrupled and within my science all I am left with is the P.E. I learned that made me run away with a pipe-dream for bad English and dark-side of the human anatomy and biology for my evil fiction homework.

But as my good behaviour shifted into a bad attitude, I felt I gain control of myself, finally. No longer was I a robot stricken by routine. And when my imagination hit me between the eyes, I concocted a devilish plan, use what I have and write everything you can.

Now this is easier said than done; especially when you have no money, no help and no readers. First thing was first, I needed a computer. I needed money for a computer, I needed a job. For a job I needed the right grades, which I didn’t have. Shop work it is (I am still working here by the way.) So now I have my computer, a little money, not a lot but hey, we writers have to start somewhere.

But if it wasn’t for my mental illness, I’m sure I would have given up on my life a long time ago. So now I plod on with my damaged baggage dreaming of something I can only imagine.

But I am sure, as long as I jot down all I can and keep reaching out to people, one day my dreams will come true. I am working on my third novel, which will shock the pants off this world, but I know you will enjoy it.

And I am still blogging short stories and creative writing; from time to time waving my poetic pen across the paper for you too.

So keep reading

And keep your pens busy.

Alex

Leave a comment

Comments (

42

)

  1. AnnJoest

    Hi Alex, sometimes its not the education, like a PhD or another degree, that people want, but it can be something in that skill inside of you that you have. An inner drive, to convey a message. You find companies these days are looking far more for individuality then a degree and I can imagine that you can grow wtih that. It’s beautiful the skill-set that you obtained outside of the struggle and inside the lacking opportunity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shimmering Muse

    Beautifully expressed!

    Like

  3. LazyLiterature

    Really moving post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alexander87writer

      Thank you. This post mean a lot to me. Thanks for stopping by 😁

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Rantingsofamuslimgirl

    It’s painful how people see mental illness as crazy😭. I choose to see it as a gift. Everyone is actually broken, the way it shows is what varies. Nice piece, btw.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alexander87writer

      Thank you, Wellwaysrant. That is the only way people can look at it, you’re right, it’s a gift. Thank you for commenting 🙏🏻

      Liked by 1 person

  5. stacyrahaka

    Beautifully written!!! 🫶🏾♥️✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alexander87writer

      Thank you, Stacy. 🫶🏻

      Like

  6. Boluwatife Amure

    Awwwn Alex I’m so sorry you had to go through all that some of which I can relate I was bullied a lot too and almost went crazy until I found my way to deal with them ! I’m glad you’re doing something you love congrats on your novel I can’t wait to read it ! God bless you ❤️ and keep writing too !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alexander87writer

      Boluwatife, you are so awesome, remember that. Thank you for your supportive words. If you ever need to talk, just get in touch. Ty
      Keep your pen busy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Boluwatife Amure

        Thanks a lot you’re awesome too ! And how do I keep in touch ? I’m still trying to find my way around WordPress I’m new here .

        Liked by 1 person

      2. alexander87writer

        You can e-mail me if you’re ever stuck or have a question 😊

        psychowriteralex@gmail.com

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Boluwatife Amure

        Ok thanks a lot !

        Like

  7. Priti

    👌👌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alexander87writer

      Thanks ☺️ Priti

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Priti

        ☺️☺️🙏

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Patti Moore Wilson, wednesdayschild2

    “But we’re all a little crazy, the world is one big mental asylum and all the countries are personal padded cells for all nationalities. But in this day and age, broken is the new fixed.” You nailed it, Alexander… I wish it didn’t always have to be such an uphill slog, but bravo for your courage, your resourcefulness and especially, your cheerfulness. It helps the rest of us band together and to keep going. I love your writing…xo 🙏🙂💕

    Liked by 2 people

    1. alexander87writer

      If I can bring some kind of joy and entertainment through all my troubles, hopefully I inspire others people who are having a terrible time and hopefully they let out their inner writer.
      Patti, I love you, you are one of my favourite people as always I appreciate your support 😊🫶🏻

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Patti Moore Wilson, wednesdayschild2

        🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂💕

        Like

    2. Boluwatife Amure

      Yes very correct Mr Patti ! Alex personally keeps me going when I read his post I feel courageous and motivated to share my emotions and feelings as I write ! 😘 I love you Alex! Keep writing!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. alexander87writer

        I’m so glad I inspire you to write, I love your writing too. You are extremely talented. Keep going! 😊

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Boluwatife Amure

        Thanks a lot ! ❤️That’s means so much to me ! God bless you .

        Like

  9. Suma Reddy

    You are soo unique, special and your brain is brilliantly beautiful and I love tge way you were, are being just you. None can copy such unique personalities. I would love to continue reading you further. Thanks for these great genuine thoughts.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. alexander87writer

      Thank you so much, Suma. You’re right, I am who I am and I talk and write the only way I know, I wear my heart on my sleeve and I love to show everyone. Thanks so much for the comment, I really do appreciate it 😊🫶🏻

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Jesse Rosenbaum

    The weight of experience gives us the strength and knowledge to navigate the world. Being able to express that properly so others can feel your experience is a skill. Keep yours sharp and write on.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. alexander87writer

      Thank you, Jesse. I will, brother. 👍🏻

      Liked by 1 person

  11. alexander87writer

    I’m in England, if I start walking now I could be there in 83 years 🤣 and same. I’ve always got my head in someone else’s book or I’m putting my own head onto the pages.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jannagrassano

      I plan on being long dead before 83 years!

      No, but really. You’re a fantastic writer. I’ve been to my fair share of mental hospitals before I was 18 years old and I met some of the most beautiful souls along the way.

      I read poetry, true stories, and the Bible. Fiction is too hard for me because I get so invested in the characters and become sad when I remember they aren’t real. I have to stick to real, so my heightened emotions won’t be for nothing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. alexander87writer

        Sorry, it was dinner time. I’m almost the same as you.
        I’ve been in mental Health Hospitals.
        I love to read everything and write all, I am searching for myself to scribble down the perfect page.
        Heighten emotions make us formidable.
        I write real life but I exaggerate the reality to fit the narrative.

        You are awesome, never change 😁

        Like

      2. Jannagrassano

        Don’t be sorry! & thank you ☺️ only for the better.

        Okay, so we can call that “based on a true story” and I can get down with that 😜

        Like

      3. alexander87writer

        Also, I am trying to get to your blog but I need permission ☹️

        Like

      4. Jannagrassano

        Really?! How do I give you permission? Lol I’m technologically challenged.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Henri-etta

        😅lol!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Jannagrassano

    It is only those those have been through it, or are still in it, that have something to write about that is worth reading.

    I really enjoyed this entry. We’re all broken. But brokenness is not who you are.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. alexander87writer

      Thank you for your kind words, I do feel broken sometimes, but that’s the best time to write. Plus, I’m a happy extrovert, so I make fun of everything and make everyone smile. 😁

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Jannagrassano

        Haha omg you sound exactly like me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. alexander87writer

        That’s awesome! I have found my twin soul. Where have you been? Haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Jannagrassano

        🤣 Deep within my journal, in the armpit of America 🇺🇸 (New Jersey).

        Liked by 1 person

  13. helenaolwage

    Well I must say I’m a little eccentric myself. Some say a little crazy. And I think that having baggage makes a writer the writer he becomes. It molds us until we become better at what we do. It’s almost like some of us need that baggage. Anyway, I had a quick look at the rest of your blog and I like it. Keep it up.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. alexander87writer

      Thank you, Helen. I believe I work at life better with all my baggage. You hit the nail on the head with your comment. I appreciate your eyes. 😁🫶🏻

      Liked by 1 person

      1. helenaolwage

        All a pleasure! Well, I believe my eyes are my best feature in every sense! haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. alexander87writer

        They truly are. Stop by again sometime and keep your pen busy. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started